August 2026
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
- Freshman First Day
- First Day / Start of Grading Period
The general first day is August 13; freshmen start August 12, and the last student day is May 27. Half days are December 17-18 and May 26-27. The separate A/B calendar lists the daily A/B rotation and reporting dates.
Denton ISD's general first day is Thursday, August 13, 2026; freshmen start August 12. The last student day is Thursday, May 27, 2027, also a half day. The four half days are December 17-18 and May 26-27. PLC student holidays move the winter return to January 5 and the spring return to March 16. The separate A/B calendar shows the daily A/B rotation and reporting dates, and lists October 20 as PSAT/TSIA2 Testing Day. March 26 and 29 are possible weather days, not guaranteed holidays.
Official calendar checked Official district source
Official calendar
| Event | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Freshman First Day | School opens | |
| First Day / Start of Grading Period | School opens | |
| Holiday | No classes | |
| PLC Day / Student Holiday | No classes | |
| Holiday | No classes | |
| PLC Day / Student Holiday | No classes | |
| Thanksgiving Break | through | No school |
| 1/2 Student Day | Early dismissal | |
| 1/2 Student Day | Early dismissal | |
| Winter Break | through | No school |
| PLC Day / Student Holiday | No classes | |
| Holiday | No classes | |
| Staff Exchange Day / Student Holiday | No classes | |
| Holiday | No classes | |
| Spring Break | through | No school |
| PLC Day / Student Holiday | No classes | |
| Possible Weather Day | If needed | |
| Possible Weather Day | If needed | |
| 1/2 Student Day | Early dismissal | |
| Last Day / End of Grading Period | Last day / early dismissal |
Month by month
Highlighted dates follow the published calendar; grouped or inferred entries are labelled. Today is determined in Central Time (America/Chicago).
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Planning notes
The 2026–2027 District Calendar school calendar begins Aug 13, 2026 and ends May 27, 2027.
The 175 attendance-date count is calculated for the general August 13-May 27 schedule and counts half days as attendance dates. Freshmen also have August 12. Weather make-up decisions may change attendance. Neither PDF gives half-day dismissal times. Reporting and PSAT/TSIA2 dates come from the A/B document; use your campus's instructions for individual testing, reporting and dismissal arrangements.
Editorial summary
Freshmen report on Wednesday, August 12, one day before Denton ISD's general first day on Thursday, August 13. The year ends May 27, which is also a half day. Denton ISD has four half days for students—December 17-18 and May 26-27—and the published calendars do not list early-dismissal times.
Thanksgiving Break is November 23-27. Winter Break runs December 21-January 1, but the January 4 PLC student holiday means students return January 5. Spring Break is March 8-12, followed by another PLC student holiday on March 15, so students return March 16. February 12 is a Staff Exchange Day/student holiday, and February 15 is also a holiday.
Denton ISD also publishes a separate A/B calendar with the daily A/B rotation, plus progress-report and report-card dates. It lists October 20 as PSAT/TSIA2 Testing Day and calls November 23-27 Fall Break, while the district calendar calls the same week Thanksgiving Break. March 26 and March 29 are possible weather days; April 6-30 is the STAAR testing window.
Common questions
The general first day is Thursday, August 13, 2026, which also starts the first grading period. Freshmen have a separate first day on Wednesday, August 12.
Yes. The official calendar marks Wednesday, August 12, 2026, as Freshman First Day, one day before the general August 13 start. The PDFs do not give a separate freshman-day arrival or dismissal time, so follow your high school's instructions.
Thursday, May 27, 2027, is the last student day and the end of the fourth grading period. Both May 26 and May 27 are half student days; the calendars do not give early-dismissal times.
Denton ISD's published 2026-2027 calendar does not state an annual student-day total. Counting the general August 13-May 27 schedule gives 175 scheduled attendance dates, including the four half days, if the two possible weather days are not used. Freshmen also attend August 12. Because weather make-up decisions can change the schedule, 175 is a calculated planning figure rather than an official district total.
Yes. Monday, September 7, 2026, is marked as a holiday with no classes. The Denton ISD calendar uses the general label Holiday rather than Labor Day.
Thanksgiving Break runs Monday, November 23-Friday, November 27, 2026. With the two surrounding weekends, students have nine consecutive days without classes. Students return Monday, November 30.
The district calendar calls November 23-27 Thanksgiving Break; the A/B calendar calls the same week Fall Break. Students also have October 12 off for a holiday and October 13 off for PLC, creating a separate four-day weekend with October 10-11.
The official Winter Break runs December 21, 2026-January 1, 2027. Students also have no school on the January 4 PLC day. After the December 18 half day, the continuous time without classes is December 19-January 4, a calculated 17-day stretch including weekends.
Students return Tuesday, January 5, 2027, the start of the third grading period. January 4 remains a student holiday for PLC even though the named Winter Break ends January 1.
Spring Break is Monday, March 8-Friday, March 12, 2027. Students are also off Monday, March 15, for PLC and return Tuesday, March 16, when the fourth grading period begins.
Students return Tuesday, March 16, 2027. Spring Break ends Friday, March 12, but Monday, March 15, is a PLC Day / Student Holiday.
The four listed half student days are December 17 and 18, 2026, and May 26 and 27, 2027. The A/B calendar labels each date Early Release. All four are attendance dates, not full-day holidays.
Neither PDF gives half-day dismissal times. The district calendar lists elementary, middle and high school hours separately, but does not provide early-release times. Check your campus's instructions for dismissal and transportation on December 17-18 and May 26-27.
Students have no classes on four PLC days during the regular year: September 21 and October 13, 2026, and January 4 and March 15, 2027. February 12 is another student holiday, but the calendar labels it Staff Exchange Day rather than PLC.
No. Friday, February 12, 2027, is a Staff Exchange Day / Student Holiday. Monday, February 15, is also a holiday, so students have a four-day weekend and return Tuesday, February 16.
Monday, February 15, 2027, is marked as a holiday with no classes. The district calendar uses the general label Holiday rather than Presidents Day. Friday, February 12, is also a student holiday for Staff Exchange Day, so students have a four-day weekend and return Tuesday, February 16.
Yes. October 12 is a holiday and October 13 is a PLC student holiday. Students are out October 10-13 including the weekend. Students return Wednesday, October 14.
No. Monday, January 18, 2027, is marked as a holiday. The calendar uses Holiday rather than a specific holiday name. Students return Tuesday, January 19.
The calendars mark Friday, March 26, and Monday, March 29, 2027, as Possible Weather Day. Attendance on those dates depends on the district's decision. The March 26-29 caption spans a weekend, but March 27 and 28 are not separate listed make-up weekdays.
Good Friday is March 26 and Easter Monday is March 29. Denton ISD marks both dates as possible weather days, not guaranteed holidays. Check district announcements before assuming either date will be a day off.
The four periods are August 13-October 16, October 19-December 18, January 5-March 5 and March 16-May 27. The A/B calendar identifies them as the first through fourth nine weeks. A grading-period end date is separate from the report-card date.
The A/B calendar lists report cards on October 27, January 15, March 23 and June 11. June 11 comes after the May 27 last student day. These dates follow the A/B calendar's reporting schedule; check your campus if your child's reporting calendar differs.
The A/B calendar lists two progress-report dates for each nine-week period: September 10 and 30; November 11 and December 9; January 28 and February 19; and April 9 and 28. These are reporting dates, not student holidays.
The A/B calendar lists Tuesday, October 20, 2026, as PSAT/TSIA2 Testing Day. It does not specify which students take each test or give a testing-day bell schedule. Follow your campus's testing instructions rather than treating the date as a districtwide closure.
The district calendar lists April 6-30, 2027, as the STAAR testing window. It does not give individual grade or subject test dates. Check your campus's assessment schedule for the tests and dates assigned to your child.
The calendar prints elementary hours of 7:40 a.m.-3:00 p.m., middle school hours of 8:15 a.m.-3:35 p.m. and high school hours of 8:50 a.m.-4:10 p.m. It does not provide dismissal times for the four half days; check your campus's instructions.
The Families page links the A/B Calendar under School Year Documents. The download shows the daily A/B rotation, the same major student holidays and half days, plus progress reports, report cards and the October 20 PSAT/TSIA2 testing day.
Light gray marks A days and blue marks B days. Dark-gray holiday cells and outlined PLC student-holiday cells are separate from the class rotation. Read the date-specific grid; a Monday is not always assigned the same letter.
Thursday, August 13, 2026, is an A day on the official grid. Friday, August 14, is a B day. These letter assignments apply to students using the A/B schedule; the separate August 12 freshman day is not marked as a regular A or B day.
Reference
District and campus information for families.
Official English and A/B calendar downloads, with family resources.
Daily A/B rotation, reporting dates, half days and PSAT/TSIA2 testing.
Source and scope
The district's English calendar, marked Last Updated 4/17/2026, supplies first and last days, half days, student holidays, grading boundaries and the STAAR window. The separate A/B PDF supplies dated class letters, PSAT/TSIA2 testing and nine-week reporting dates. The Families page links both calendars.
One general student-year calendar is used because the two PDFs share attendance dates. The August 12 freshman event and A/B reporting/testing events keep their student scope. Freshman First Day directly supports the Grade 9 scope; program-specific is a derived compatibility classification because the shared status enum has no grade-specific value, not an assertion that freshmen form a separate program. Staff-only dates before the school year and the May 31 holiday after it are excluded. March 26 and March 29 are separate official Possible Weather Day entries; conditional-attendance and potential attendance-day activation are derived interpretations of that label, not additional source wording. Their published-schedule attendance flags are derived and can change if activated. Events with several classifications retain one canonical ID and a primary eventType plus eventTypes, so May 27 remains both the last day and an early-release/grading-period-end date. PSAT/TSIA2 uses SCHOOL_MILESTONE because the shared enum has no general TESTING_DAY type. No-school lists reference the canonical events rather than duplicate them.
The district calendar's printed update date is April 17, 2026; it is not treated as an approval date, and no revision history explains what changed. The A/B PDF has no printed revision date. Official links and both complete pages were checked October 4, 2026. The A/B Fall Break and district Thanksgiving Break labels are retained as different names for the same week, not conflicting dates.
The 175 attendance-date count is calculated for the general August 13-May 27 schedule and counts half days as attendance dates. Freshmen also have August 12. Weather make-up decisions may change attendance. Neither PDF gives half-day dismissal times. Reporting and PSAT/TSIA2 dates come from the A/B document; use your campus's instructions for individual testing, reporting and dismissal arrangements.