August 2026
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
- First Day of School
Classes begin August 18. Thanksgiving Break is November 23–27, Winter Break December 21–January 1 and Spring Break March 8–12. Several campuses use separate calendars.
Students following the Midland ISD district calendar begin August 18, 2026. Thanksgiving Break is November 23–27, Winter Break December 21–January 1 and Spring Break March 8–12. May 26 is the last regular-year student date shown on the calendar and is an early-release day. Sam Houston and South, Pre-K Academy at Midland College, and Early College use separate calendars.
Official calendar checked Official district source
Official calendar
| Event | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| First Day of School | School opens | |
| Labor Day (No School) | No classes | |
| District professional learning — no school | No classes | |
| Parent-teacher conference — no school | No classes | |
| Campus professional learning — no school | No classes | |
| Thanksgiving Break (No School) | through | No school |
| Campus professional learning / end of grading cycle 2 — no school | No classes | |
| Winter Break (No School) | through | No school |
| Campus/district professional learning — no school | through | No classes |
| Martin Luther King Jr. Day — no school | No classes | |
| Campus professional learning & parent-teacher conferences — no school | No classes | |
| Bad Weather Day (No School) | No classes | |
| Campus/district professional learning — no school | No classes | |
| Spring Break (No School) | through | No school |
| Good Friday (No School) | No classes | |
| Bad Weather Day (No School) | No classes | |
| End of Grading Cycle 4 (Early Release) | Final regular-year / early dismissal |
Month by month
Highlighted dates follow the published calendar; grouped or inferred entries are labelled. Today is determined in Central Time (America/Chicago).
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Planning notes
The 2026–2027 District Academic Calendar calendar shows scheduled dates from Aug 18, 2026 through May 26, 2027.
May 26 is a derived student-year boundary from the final grading cycle and early-release entry. Attendance totals count dates, not full instructional-day equivalents. February 26 and April 30 are explicitly listed as Bad Weather Day (No School); this PDF does not state an activation policy. Early-dismissal times, report-card distribution dates and summer-program eligibility are not provided.
Editorial summary
Midland ISD begins classes Tuesday, August 18, 2026, on the district academic calendar. October 12 is district professional learning, and October 13 is a parent-teacher conference day; students have no school on both dates. November 9 is another campus professional-learning day. Thanksgiving Break runs November 23-27, with students back Monday, November 30.
The December 18 grading-cycle boundary is also a campus professional-learning day with no classes. Winter Break is December 21-January 1, followed by January 4-5 professional learning; the second semester begins January 6. February 15 combines campus professional learning and parent/teacher conferences. March 5 has no school for professional learning immediately before the March 8-12 Spring Break, so students return March 15. Good Friday, March 26, is a no-school day.
February 26 and April 30 are marked Bad Weather Day (No School). May 26 is the last regular-year student date shown on the calendar and is an early-release day. The calendar does not separately label it Last Day of School. Sam Houston and South, Pre-K Academy at Midland College, and Early College follow separate calendars, so these district dates should not be applied to every campus.
Common questions
Students on the district calendar start Tuesday, August 18, 2026. Sam Houston and South start August 4, and Pre-K Academy at Midland College begins scheduled mandatory attendance August 17. Early College also starts August 18 but has its own calendar.
No. Midland ISD posts separate calendars for Sam Houston and South Elementary, Pre-K Academy at Midland College, and Early College High School. Their starts, ends, conference days and Thanksgiving schedules differ from the district calendar.
May 26, 2027, is the last regular-year student date shown on the calendar and is an early-release day. The academic calendar does not separately label it Last Day of School. May 27–28 are campus staff workdays.
The district calendar lists Thanksgiving Break November 23-27, 2026. Students return Monday, November 30. Early College has a shorter November 25-27 break, so its families should use the ECHS calendar instead.
The named Winter Break runs December 21, 2026-January 1, 2027. Students also have no classes December 18 and January 4-5 for professional learning. Together with weekends, those dates create a 19-day student no-class stretch from December 18 through January 5.
The second semester starts Wednesday, January 6, 2027. January 4 and 5 are professional-learning days with no school; they are not part of the named Winter Break.
Spring Break is March 8-12, 2027. March 5 is a separate no-school professional-learning day immediately before it. Students return Monday, March 15, after a continuous March 5-14 stretch without classes.
The district PDF does not list a named fall-break week. Students have no school Monday, October 12 for district professional learning and Tuesday, October 13 for parent-teacher conferences. The next scheduled class date is October 14.
Within the regular district student year, those dates are October 12, November 9 and December 18, 2026, plus January 4-5, February 15 and March 5, 2027. February 15 also includes parent/teacher conferences. Pre-August 18 training is not counted in this list.
October 13, 2026 is a parent-teacher conference day with no school. February 15, 2027 combines conferences with campus professional learning and also has no student classes. Individual appointment times are not printed in the yearly PDF.
No. The district calendar lists December 18 as the end of grading cycle 2 and a campus professional-learning day with no school. The final scheduled student attendance date before winter is Thursday, December 17.
The district calendar lists early release Wednesday, May 26, 2027, at the end of grading cycle 4. It does not state a dismissal time. Early College and Pre-K Academy have additional shortened days on their own calendars.
The district academic calendar lists early release on May 26 but gives no dismissal time. Check your campus notice for pickup and bus times.
No regular student classes are scheduled under the district calendar. The date is labeled campus professional learning and parent/teacher conferences, rather than a Presidents Day holiday. Pre-K Academy marks February 15 as a full attendance day.
The district calendar marks both dates Bad Weather Day (No School). Neither counts as a scheduled student attendance date. Confirm any later schedule changes through current district notices.
No. Good Friday, March 26, is a no-school day. The district calendar does not list Monday, March 29 as a no-school day.
The district calendar lists October 16 and December 18, 2026, then March 19 and May 26, 2027. December 18 has no classes for professional learning, while May 26 has early release. These are cycle boundaries, not report-card distribution dates.
The current district calendar works out to 169 scheduled student attendance dates. This calculated total excludes the listed no-school dates, including February 26 and April 30. May 26 early release counts as one attendance date, not a full-length instructional day.
Yes. The PDF lists Summer Learning June 7-25, 2027, after the regular student year. It does not specify eligibility or a daily attendance schedule. Those program dates are kept separate rather than counted as regular-year attendance for every student.
Use the official PDF link on this page or Midland ISD's Calendars page. The printable-calendar row lists the district, Sam Houston and South, Pre-K Academy and Early College PDFs separately so families can select the applicable schedule.
Reference
District and school information.
Choose the campus calendar and check district updates.
Students following the district academic calendar, not the three separately listed campus calendars
Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elementary and South Elementary only
Pre-K Academy at Midland College only, not all Midland ISD prekindergarten classes
Students following the separately posted Early College High School academic calendar
Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elementary and South Elementary only
Pre-K Academy at Midland College only, not all Midland ISD prekindergarten classes
Students following the separately posted Early College High School academic calendar
Source and scope
The board-approved district PDF and Midland ISD Calendars page supply the start, semester return, grading-cycle ends, student holidays, professional learning, parent conferences and two bad-weather dates marked No School. The official calendar page links the three alternate campus schedules separately; this page follows only the district academic calendar.
Multi-day breaks preserve their official boundaries. Longer student no-class stretches are calculated in breaks without renaming the official Winter or Spring Break. December 18 remains a full no-class day, not early release. Pre-opening orientation and learning, May teacher-only workdays and Memorial Day after this student-year boundary are excluded from regular-year events.
The PDF says BOARD APPROVED 12.16.25, an approval date rather than a publication or revision date. The currently linked official calendar was visually checked October 6, 2026. Later district notices should be checked for schedule changes.
May 26 is a derived student-year boundary from the final grading cycle and early-release entry. Attendance totals count dates, not full instructional-day equivalents. February 26 and April 30 are explicitly listed as Bad Weather Day (No School); this PDF does not state an activation policy. Early-dismissal times, report-card distribution dates and summer-program eligibility are not provided.