August 2026
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
- First Day of School
Early College starts August 18. Thanksgiving break is November 25-27, four dates have early release, and the final grading cycle ends May 14.
Midland ISD Early College students begin August 18, 2026, on a schedule distinct from the district calendar. Thanksgiving Break is November 25-27, not the full district week. October 16, November 13, February 19 and May 14 have early release. The second semester begins January 6, and the final grading cycle ends May 14. Summer Bridge on May 27-28 is specifically for incoming ninth graders.
Official calendar checked Official district source
Official calendar
| Event | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| First Day of School | School opens | |
| Labor Day (No School) | No classes | |
| Student early release / afternoon parent conferences | Early dismissal | |
| Student early release / afternoon professional learning | Early dismissal | |
| Thanksgiving Break (No School for Students) | through | No school |
| Professional learning / end of grading cycle 2 — no school | No classes | |
| Winter Break (No School) | through | No school |
| Professional Learning (No School) | through | No classes |
| Martin Luther King Jr. Day — no school | No classes | |
| Student early release / afternoon parent conferences | Early dismissal | |
| Bad Weather Day (No School) | No classes | |
| Professional Learning (No School) | No classes | |
| Spring Break (No School) | through | No school |
| Good Friday (No School) | No classes | |
| Bad Weather Day (No School) | No classes | |
| End of Grading Cycle 4 (Early Release) | Final regular-year / early dismissal |
Month by month
Highlighted dates follow the published calendar; grouped or inferred entries are labelled. Today is determined in Central Time (America/Chicago).
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Planning notes
The 2026–2027 Early College High School Calendar calendar shows scheduled dates from Aug 18, 2026 through May 14, 2027.
Parent-conference and early-release times are not stated. February 26 and April 30 are explicitly marked Bad Weather Day (No School); this PDF does not state an activation policy. Summer Bridge has no printed times or mandatory-attendance rule. Summer learning is outside the regular-year count and needs a confirmed program schedule.
Editorial summary
Early College follows its own Midland ISD calendar even though classes begin on the same August 18 date as the district schedule. Thanksgiving Break is only November 25-27. October 12–13 and November 9 are not marked as no-school dates on the ECHS calendar. October 16 has early release for afternoon parent conferences, and November 13 has early release for afternoon professional learning.
Students have no classes December 18 for professional learning. Winter Break runs December 21–January 1, followed by professional learning January 4–5; students return January 6. February 19 has early release for afternoon parent conferences. March 5 has no school for professional learning before Spring Break, March 8–12. Good Friday, March 26, is a no-school day. February 26 and April 30 are marked Bad Weather Day (No School).
The final grading cycle ends May 14 with early release. The calendar does not separately label a Last Day of School. Summer Bridge on May 27–28 is for incoming ninth graders. The PDF is inconsistent about summer-learning dates: its table lists June 7–25, while its June calendar shades weekdays June 1–30. Families should confirm the applicable program schedule with ECHS.
Common questions
The ECHS PDF gives Tuesday, August 18, 2026 as the first day of school. Families should use this separate calendar for later breaks and shortened days, even though its opening date matches the district calendar.
No. Early College has its own academic calendar. Classes begin August 18, 2026, but Thanksgiving Break is November 25–27 and its four early-release dates differ from the district schedule. Families should use the ECHS calendar.
May 14, 2027, is the final grading-cycle end shown, with early release. The calendar does not separately label a Last Day of School. Summer Bridge on May 27–28 is for incoming ninth graders.
ECHS Thanksgiving Break is November 25-27, 2026. November 23 and 24 are not marked as no-school dates in this PDF. Students return Monday, November 30 after the three-day break and weekend.
The four dates are October 16 and November 13, 2026, then February 19 and May 14, 2027. October 16 and February 19 have afternoon parent conferences; November 13 has afternoon professional learning; May 14 ends the final grading cycle.
The academic PDF identifies early release but gives no dismissal times. Check the Early College school notice for pickup and bus arrangements rather than using a district or Pre-K Academy release time.
The ECHS named Winter Break is December 21, 2026-January 1, 2027. December 18 and January 4-5 also have no classes for professional learning. The resulting student no-class stretch is December 18-January 5, including weekends.
Students return Wednesday, January 6, 2027 for the first day of second semester. January 4 and 5 are still professional-learning days without student classes, not early-release attendance dates.
Spring Break runs March 8-12, 2027. Friday, March 5 is professional learning with no school, so students are out March 5-14 including weekends and return Monday, March 15.
During the regular ECHS student year, the no-school learning dates are December 18, 2026, January 4-5, 2027 and March 5, 2027. November 13 professional learning is in the afternoon after early release, so it is not counted as another full-day closure.
The ECHS PDF does not mark October 12 or 13 as holidays, professional-learning closures or conference no-school days. Its parent conferences instead appear with student early release Friday, October 16. Families should follow the separate ECHS calendar for these dates.
The ECHS calendar does not list February 15 as a no-school day. This differs from the district calendar. ECHS lists parent conferences with early release February 19 instead; families should follow any later school-specific updates.
Both dates are marked Bad Weather Day (No School) on the ECHS calendar and are excluded from scheduled attendance. Confirm any later schedule changes through current school or district notices.
Good Friday, March 26, is a no-school day. Monday, March 29 is not listed as a no-school day on the ECHS calendar.
October 16, 2026 and February 19, 2027 have student early release followed by Parent Conference PM. These are shortened student attendance days, not conference closures. The annual PDF does not provide appointment times.
The PDF specifically lists Summer Bridge for incoming ninth graders on May 27 and 28, 2027. It does not give session hours or state an attendance requirement. Those dates are separate from the regular year ending at the May 14 grading-cycle boundary.
The calendar is inconsistent: its table lists June 7–25, 2027, while the June calendar shades weekdays June 1–30. Confirm the applicable program dates and attendance details with ECHS.
The listed cycle ends are October 16 and December 18, 2026, then March 19 and May 14, 2027. October 16 and May 14 have early release; December 18 has no school for professional learning. Report-card distribution dates are not supplied.
The official ECHS PDF is linked here and in Midland ISD's printable-calendar row as Early College HS Calendar. Select that download rather than the district, Pre-K Academy or Sam Houston and South schedule.
Reference
District and school information.
Choose the campus calendar and check district updates.
Students following the district academic calendar, not the three separately listed campus calendars
Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elementary and South Elementary only
Pre-K Academy at Midland College only, not all Midland ISD prekindergarten classes
Students following the separately posted Early College High School academic calendar
Students following the district academic calendar, not the three separately listed campus calendars
Sam Houston Collegiate Preparatory Elementary and South Elementary only
Pre-K Academy at Midland College only, not all Midland ISD prekindergarten classes
Source and scope
The separate ECHS academic PDF is the source for its shorter Thanksgiving Break, three afternoon conference/learning release dates, May 14 final-cycle early release and incoming ninth-grade Summer Bridge. Midland ISD links it as Early College HS Calendar rather than the default district calendar.
The regular attendance range ends at the May 14 final-cycle early-release boundary, marked derived because no separate Last Day label is supplied. Summer Bridge retains its incoming ninth-grade scope as a later student-related milestone. Staff orientation, training and workdays are excluded; the four shortened attendance dates are not full-day closures.
No board approval or revision date is printed on the ECHS calendar. The currently linked official PDF was visually checked October 6, 2026. The printed June 7–25 summer-learning window conflicts with the June 1–30 shaded weekday calendar; neither is treated as a confirmed daily program schedule.
Parent-conference and early-release times are not stated. February 26 and April 30 are explicitly marked Bad Weather Day (No School); this PDF does not state an activation policy. Summer Bridge has no printed times or mandatory-attendance rule. Summer learning is outside the regular-year count and needs a confirmed program schedule.