August 2026
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
- First Day of School
School starts August 12, 2026, and ends May 25, 2027, with early dismissal on the last day. Students have October 12–16 off; Spring Break is March 15–19.
Goose Creek CISD starts school August 12, 2026, and finishes May 25, 2027, with early dismissal on the last day. Students have October 12–13 off as exchange days, followed by Fall Break October 14–16. Classes resume after winter holidays on January 6, but the second semester begins January 13. Spring Break runs March 15–19, and December 18 is another early-release day. Dismissal times vary by campus. January 18 and March 26 are designated bad weather days, so check district announcements before treating them as confirmed days off.
Official calendar checked Official district source
Calendar dates
| Event | Date | Status |
|---|---|---|
| First Day of School | School opens | |
| Labor Day Holiday | No classes | |
| Staff PLC / Student Break | No classes | |
| Exchange Days / Student Break | through | No classes |
| Fall Break | through | No school |
| Staff PLC / Student Break | No classes | |
| Thanksgiving Break | through | No school |
| District Early Release Day | Early dismissal | |
| Winter Break Calculated from calendar | through | No school |
| Teacher Workday / Student Break | No classes | |
| Staff PLC / Student Break | No classes | |
| Designated Bad Weather Day | Reserved bad weather day — confirm attendance | |
| Staff PLC / Student Break | No classes | |
| Exchange Days / Student Break | through | No classes |
| Spring Break | through | No school |
| Designated Bad Weather Day | Reserved bad weather day — confirm attendance | |
| Last Day of School / Early Release | Last day / early dismissal |
Month by month
Highlighted dates follow the published calendar; grouped or inferred entries are labelled. Today is determined in Central Time (America/Chicago).
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Planning notes
The 2026–2027 District instructional calendar school calendar begins Aug 12, 2026 and ends May 25, 2027.
This independent reference is not a Goose Creek CISD website. Confirm campus event times, bell schedules, assigned testing, graduation arrangements and bad-weather-day attendance with GCCISD or your school.
School schedules
Clark Elementary; Baytown, Highlands and Horace Mann junior schools; Goose Creek Memorial, Robert E. Lee and Ross S. Sterling high schools; POINT Alternative Center.
Austin, Bañuelos, Bowie, Carver, Crockett, Highlands, Pumphrey, San Jacinto and Ashbel Smith elementary schools; Hopper Primary and Liles Early Learning Academy are also listed in this tier.
Alamo, De Zavala, Harlem, Travis and Victoria Walker elementary schools; Cedar Bayou, Gentry and E.F. Green junior schools.
Editorial summary
The 2026–2027 Goose Creek CISD school year runs from Wednesday, August 12, 2026, through Tuesday, May 25, 2027. Elementary schools hold Meet the Teacher on August 10; families should check their campus for the event time. The district calendar lists 85 instructional days in each semester, for 170 days combined.
Students have no classes October 12–16, 2026, but the district gives these dates two different labels. October 12–13 are exchange days, followed by Fall Break on October 14–16. With the weekends on either side, students have nine consecutive days off, October 10–18, and return Monday, October 19. September 25 and November 3 are separate Staff PLC/Student Break days.
Thanksgiving Break runs November 23–27, with classes back on November 30. December 18 is an early-release school day, followed by Winter Break from December 21 through January 1. Students also have January 4 off for a teacher workday and January 5 off for staff professional learning. Classes resume January 6, but the first semester does not end until January 12. The second semester starts January 13.
Students have another break February 10–12: February 10 is a Staff PLC day, and February 11–12 are exchange days. Including the weekend, they have five consecutive days off and return Monday, February 15, which is Presidents Day. Spring Break is March 15–19, with classes resuming March 22. March 12, the end of the third report period, remains a scheduled school day without early release.
January 18, 2027, falls on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, and March 26 falls on Good Friday. Goose Creek CISD marks both as designated bad weather days rather than regular holidays. Neither is included in the planned 170 instructional days, but the district may use them for instruction if the schedule changes. Families should check GCCISD announcements before making childcare or travel plans.
School hours vary by campus in Goose Creek CISD, even among schools serving the same grade levels. Clark Elementary (Tier 1) runs from 7:20 a.m. to 2:50 p.m., Austin Elementary (Tier 2) from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., and Alamo Elementary (Tier 3) from 8:40 a.m. to 4:10 p.m. On the December 18 and May 25 early-release days, these tiers dismiss at 11:20 a.m., noon and 12:40 p.m., respectively. IMPACT Early College, Peter E. Hyland Empower Academy and Stuart Career Tech have separate schedules. Use the school-hours table to check your campus.
Graduation dates vary by high school. IMPACT Early College and Stuart Career Tech hold separate ceremonies at Lee College on May 21, at 5:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. respectively. Goose Creek Memorial graduates May 24, Ross S. Sterling May 25 and Robert E. Lee May 26, each at 7:30 p.m. at Stallworth Stadium. These ceremonies do not create districtwide student holidays, and the May 26 ceremony takes place after the regular school year ends.
The instructional calendar also lists state testing on November 30 and December 1–11, 2026, and April 5–30, 2027. These dates identify testing days or windows, not exams for every student on every date. A separate June 14–25 testing window applies to students assigned summer assessments; it does not extend the regular school year. Families should follow campus instructions for individual test dates.
Common questions
The first day of school is Wednesday, August 12, 2026. Elementary Meet the Teacher is scheduled for Monday, August 10, with event times provided by individual campuses.
Tuesday, May 25, 2027, is the last day of regular instruction, with early dismissal. May 26 is a teacher workday, not another student attendance day.
Summer break begins after early dismissal on May 25, 2027. May 26 is the first full day after the regular school year. Graduation ceremonies and summer testing may still apply to some students.
Elementary Meet the Teacher is Monday, August 10, 2026. The district calendar does not specify one time for every school, so check with your child's elementary campus.
No. Monday, September 7, 2026, is a school holiday. Students return Tuesday, September 8.
No. Friday, September 25, is a Staff PLC/Student Break day. Students have no classes, rather than an early dismissal. Classes resume Monday, September 28.
The official Fall Break is October 14–16, 2026. Students also have October 12–13 off for exchange days. Including weekends, the full break from classes is October 10–18, with school resuming Monday, October 19.
No. Students have no classes October 12 or 13. The district labels both dates Exchange Day/Student Break, not a separately named Columbus Day holiday. Fall Break follows October 14–16.
Yes. Friday, October 9, is a scheduled school day and the end of the first report period. No early release is marked on the calendar. Students return after the October break on Monday, October 19.
On the Goose Creek CISD calendar, Exchange Day/Student Break means students have no regular classes. The dates are October 12–13, 2026, and February 11–12, 2027. The instructional calendar does not specify whether campus offices are open on those days.
No. November 3 is marked Staff PLC/Student Break, so students have no classes. The calendar identifies it as a staff professional learning day rather than a separately named Election Day holiday.
Yes. Wednesday, November 11, 2026, is a scheduled school day. Veterans Day is not listed as a student holiday on the district instructional calendar.
Thanksgiving Break is November 23–27, 2026. With both weekends, students have November 21–29 off and return Monday, November 30.
Yes. Monday, November 30, is the first scheduled school day after Thanksgiving Break. It is also listed as a state testing day, so check with your campus if your child has an assigned assessment.
Winter Break runs December 21, 2026, through January 1, 2027. January 4 is a teacher workday, and January 5 is a Staff PLC/Student Break day. Students return to classes Wednesday, January 6.
Students have 18 consecutive days without classes, from December 19, 2026, through January 5, 2027, including weekends and the January 4–5 staff days. December 18 is an early-release school day.
Classes resume Wednesday, January 6, 2027. Students return before the first semester ends, so this is not the beginning of the second semester.
The second semester begins Wednesday, January 13, 2027. The first semester ends January 12, even though students return from winter holidays on January 6.
January 18, 2027, falls on Martin Luther King Jr. Day, but the district marks it as a designated bad weather day rather than a regular holiday. It is outside the planned instructional days, but attendance may change if the district uses the date. Check official announcements.
Students have no classes February 10–12, 2027. February 10 is a Staff PLC day, followed by exchange days February 11–12. With the weekend, the break lasts February 10–14, and classes resume Monday, February 15.
Yes. Monday, February 15, 2027, is a scheduled school day and the return from the February student break. Presidents Day is not listed as a student holiday.
These are staff professional learning days when students do not attend regular classes. In 2026–2027, they fall on September 25 and November 3, 2026, and January 5 and February 10, 2027. January 4 is a separate teacher workday with no student classes.
Spring Break is March 15–19, 2027. Students have March 13–21 off when weekends are included, and classes resume Monday, March 22.
No. March 12 is a regular scheduled school day and the end of the third report period. Spring Break begins Monday, March 15, with classes resuming March 22.
Good Friday falls on March 26, 2027. The district identifies March 26 as a designated bad weather day, not a regular holiday. Check GCCISD announcements to confirm whether classes will be held.
Yes. Monday, March 29, 2027, is a scheduled school day. It is not listed as a holiday or designated bad weather day on the instructional calendar.
The designated bad weather dates are January 18 and March 26, 2027. These dates are not regular holidays guaranteed to remain days off. Follow district announcements for any decision to use them for instruction.
Check the district's official announcements, District Letters & Alerts page and your campus communications. The annual calendar identifies designated bad weather dates but does not confirm in advance whether either will be used for instruction.
District early release is scheduled for Friday, December 18, 2026, and Tuesday, May 25, 2027. Students attend school on both dates. May 25 is also the last regular instructional day.
Tier 1 dismisses at 11:20 a.m., Tier 2 at noon and Tier 3 at 12:40 p.m. IMPACT Early College dismisses at noon, Peter E. Hyland Empower Academy at 11:45 a.m. and Stuart Career Tech at 11:25 a.m. Check your campus's tier before planning pickup.
Tier 1 operates 7:20 a.m.–2:50 p.m., Tier 2 operates 8:00 a.m.–3:30 p.m., and Tier 3 operates 8:40 a.m.–4:10 p.m. Schools are assigned by campus, not simply by grade level. The school-hours table identifies the campuses in each tier.
Yes. IMPACT Early College operates 8:00 a.m.–3:30 p.m., Stuart Career Tech operates 7:25 a.m.–2:55 p.m., and Peter E. Hyland Empower Academy operates 7:45 a.m.–3:15 p.m. Each also has a separately listed early-release time.
The four report periods are August 12–October 9 (41 instructional days), October 19–January 12 (44 days), January 13–March 12 (39 days), and March 22–May 25 (46 days). The calendar identifies these periods but does not give report-card posting dates.
The four report periods end October 9, January 12, March 12 and May 25. The instructional calendar does not specify exact online report-card availability dates. Check the district Parent Portal or your campus announcements for release information.
The district calendar shows 85 instructional days in the first semester and 85 in the second, giving 170 days combined. The 170-day figure is calculated from the two printed semester totals rather than separately stated as an annual total.
The instructional calendar lists November 30 and December 1–11, 2026, and April 5–30, 2027. These are testing dates or windows, not exams every day for every student. Schools remain in session on regular instructional days within those windows; individual testing schedules come from campuses.
Yes. June 14–25, 2027, is listed as a summer state testing window. It applies to students assigned an assessment, not all students, and does not extend the regular school year.
IMPACT Early College graduates May 21 at 5:00 p.m., followed by Stuart Career Tech at 7:30 p.m., both at Lee College. Goose Creek Memorial graduates May 24, Ross S. Sterling May 25 and Robert E. Lee May 26, each at 7:30 p.m. at Stallworth Stadium. Check school announcements for ceremony arrangements.
IMPACT Early College High School graduates Friday, May 21, 2027, at 5:00 p.m. in the Lee College Sports Arena, 200 Lee Drive, Baytown. According to the district's ceremony guidelines, families may begin arriving at 4:00 p.m.
Stuart Career Tech High School graduates Friday, May 21, 2027, at 7:30 p.m. in the Lee College Sports Arena, 200 Lee Drive, Baytown. Families may begin arriving at 6:30 p.m., according to the district's ceremony guidelines.
Tickets and parking passes are not required for the scheduled outdoor ceremonies at Stallworth Stadium. Gates open at 6:00 p.m., and ceremonies begin at 7:30 p.m. However, tickets are required if a ceremony moves indoors because of rain. Check the district's rainout announcements before attending.
Under the district's rainout plan, Goose Creek Memorial, Ross S. Sterling and Robert E. Lee graduations would move from Stallworth Stadium to Lee College Sports Arena. The district says rainout decisions will be communicated by 5:00 p.m. on the ceremony day. Each graduate receives two digital rainout tickets for guests. Check the official graduation updates before leaving for the ceremony.
GCCISD's graduation guest guidelines require clear bags. Transparent bags have no stated size limit, while non-transparent purses or clutches must be no larger than 6 x 9 x 5 inches. Diaper bags and medically necessary bags may be allowed after screening. Check the district's graduation guidelines for the full list of permitted items.
No. High school graduations are campus-specific ceremonies, not districtwide student holidays. The last regular instructional day remains May 25, with early release, even though Robert E. Lee's graduation is on May 26.
Use the official PDF linked on this page or visit the district's Calendars page and select Instructional Calendar - English. The current PDF carries a July 14, 2026, date stamp. Check district and campus announcements for later schedule changes.
Yes. Goose Creek CISD's official District Calendars page provides an Instructional Calendar - Spanish PDF alongside the English version.
Reference
Source and scope
The supplied one-page PDF was extracted and rendered in full. The current English download linked from the district Calendars page was downloaded, and its SHA-256 matched the local file. Current School Hours and Graduations pages supply campus-specific clock times and ceremony details. News Hub and District Letters & Alerts were checked for operating changes.
Blue stars mark the August 12 first day and January 6 return to instruction; the January 13 caption and report-period bracket separately establish the second semester. The first semester ends January 12, not December 18. Purple Staff PLC dates and pink teacher workdays are student breaks; orange exchange days remain separate from the named October 14–16 Fall Break. Green denotes district early release on December 18 and May 25, while pink brackets denote report-period boundaries without creating early dismissal. July New Giants Academy and August GiantCon/staff preparation are employee events, so they are excluded; the August 10 elementary family event is retained. The May 26 workday, May 31 holiday and summer office-closing Fridays are outside the regular student year and omitted. Red-outlined assessment ranges are testing windows, not daily exams or school closures; June testing is scoped to assigned students outside the regular year. The two winter caption entries, December 21–31 and January 1, are normalized to one derived continuous holiday range. Each weekday in every stored confirmed break was checked. The 170-day annual total is a derived sum of two official 85-day semesters, and the 41/44/39/46 report counts independently match the grid. January 18 and March 26 are cloud-marked Designated Bad Weather Days. Their planned exclusion and potential attendance are derived from the designation together with the printed counts, not an explicit activation policy; the calendar does not publish an activation order. They are excluded from confirmed closure IDs. The July 14, 2026 document stamp is recorded separately from unknown Board approval/publication dates. Older March/April calendar copies found in search are not substituted for the current July-stamped file. Graduation on May 25 is a distinct scoped evening milestone alongside the district last-day/early-release event. Current campus-hour tiers are preserved rather than imposing one start time per school level.
Official calendar, current hours, graduation information, News Hub and district alerts checked October 21, 2026. The source carries a JULY142026 stamp; this is not evidence of Board approval or official publication. Later reviews should check the Calendars page’s current linked PDF and current operating notices. Only 2026–2027 was supplied; no later-year calendar is inferred.
This independent reference is not a Goose Creek CISD website. Confirm campus event times, bell schedules, assigned testing, graduation arrangements and bad-weather-day attendance with GCCISD or your school.